Tuesday, December 22, 2015

Ojanaho and Alm: Orienteering Achievement of 2015

Maja Alm and Olli Ojanaho have been awarded with “The Orienteering Achievement of 2015″ titles in the women’s and men’s class, respectively! Alm won the award with a big margin ahead of her team mate in the Danish National Team Ida Bobach. Among the men, Finnish junior Ojanaho was awarded the “The Orienteering Achievement of 2015″ with Swiss Daniel Hubmann in second.

The vote has been decided by the big international readership of WorldofO.com – more than 4000 unique votes from around 60 different countries have been delivered – making these results very representative for the worldwide orienteering community. Big thanks go to all voters and to the event sponsors PWT Five Days Toscana, Andalucia O-Meeting, Easter 4 , O-Ringen, Swiss O-week, Antalya Orienteering Festival, Sprint Scotland, Suunto Games and OOCup.

In the Men’s class Olli Ojanaho won with 25.2% of the votes ahead of Daniel Hubmann with 21.8%, Lucas Basset with 19.1% and Thierry Gueorgiou with 14.2%. Last year’s winner in the men’s class was 96 year old Rune Haraldsson, this year an 18 year old junior wins the award. In the Womens’s class Maja Alm won with an impressive 39.7% of the votes ahead of Ida Bobach with 27.4%, Annika Billstam with 7.9% and Galina Vinogradova with 7.8%. The Interviews with the winners can be read at http://news.worldofo.com/2015/12/22/ojanaho-and-alm-orienteering-achievement-of-2015/.

The Orienteering Achievement of the Year is an annual election organized by the largest international orienteering presence - WorldofO.com. In this edition of the Orienteering Achievement of the Year 8 men and 8 women were nominated for their great orienteering achievements. The nominated runners – and stories about why they were nominated – can be found at http://poll.worldofo.com/2015/.

[Press release: Jan Kocbach / World of O]

No comments:

Post a Comment