Sunday, February 21, 2016

28th International Orienteering Trophy Murcia Costa Cálida: Ridefelt and Mironova won at Caravaca

Albin Ridefelt and Svetlana Mironova were the winners of 28th International Orienteering Trophy Murcia Costa Cálida, held this weekend at Caravaca, Spain. Both athletes started with the right foot, winning the Long Distance stage on the first day and managed keeping the leadership until the last moment.

One week after the Lorca O' Meeting, Spain attracted again the attentions of Orienteering world, calling to Caravaca de la Cruz close to 1200 athletes from 21 different countries. The event started with a very challenging Long Distance course, in which the Swedish Albin Ridefelt (OK Linné) took a four minutes winning over the Spanish Antonio Martinez Pérez. In the Women class, the things would be quite different, with the Russian Svetlana Mironova (Koovee) taking a tight victory over the Finnish Saila Kinni (Tampereen Pyrintö) by the margin of 12 seconds.

Fulfilling the first day's program, the attentions moved to Caravaca's urban centre where eight hundred athletes faced a really fun Sprint WRE, scoring for the IOF World Ranking, with victories from the Swedish Karolin Ohlsson and Rassmus Andersson (OK Linné). The last stage took the orienteering tribe to the forest again, for a decisive Middle Distance WRE. The winner in Men Elite class was the Norwegian Vetle Ruud Braten, but Ridefelt managed to keep the difference over his most direct opponents, taking a comfortable triumph overall. Antonio Martinez Pérez and Ionut Zinca (Universitatea Craiova) followed Ridefelt on the podium. Again, things were a little different in the Women Elite but Svetlana Mironova could keep the difference to a strong concurrence, even if the Finnish Saila Kinni took the victory, shortening to 17 seconds the distance to the leadership overall. Catherine Taylor (OK Linné) was third after the three stages.


Men Elite
1. Albin Ridefelt (OK Linné) 2:09:49 (+ 00:00)
2. Antonio Martínez Pérez (Colivenc) 2:15:45 (+ 05:56)
3. Ionut Zinca (Universitatea Craiova) 2:15:54 (+ 06:05)
4. Jon Aukrust Osmoen (NTNUI) 2:19:42 (+ 09:53)
5. Ivan Kuchmenko (Järla Orientering) 2:19:57 (+ 10:08)

Women Elite
1. Svetlana Mironova (Koovee) 1:57:36 (+ 00:00)
2. Saila Kinni (Tampereen Pyrintö) 1:57:53 (+ 00:17)
3. Catherine Taylor (OK Linné) 1:58:50 (+ 01:14)
4. Nadiya Volynska (OK Orion) 1:59:44 (+ 02:08)
5. Karolin Ohlsson (Järla Orientering) 2:01:50 (+ 04:14)

Complete results and further information at

[Photo: Øystein K. Østerbø /]

Joaquim Margarido

No comments:

Post a comment