Sunday, March 06, 2016

BOM MTBO 2016: Good wins of Machado and Hara

Good maps, perfect terrains, exciting courses and the beautiful scenery of Portuguese region of Bairrada were the best ingredients for the start of a new MTBO season. In the end, Davide Machado and Marika Hara were the big winners of Bairrada O' Meeting MTBO WRE 2016.

The MTBO had in Portugal, this weekend, the start of the present season. Calling the attention of two hundred athletes from 10 different nations, the Bairrada O' Meeting MTBO WRE 2016 presented itself as a Model Event to the World MTB Orienteering Championships 2016, next July, offering - along with “Mealhada's four wonders” - two courses scoring for the IOF World Ranking.

The Middle Distance on the first day of competition had in the French Baptiste Fuchs (Team Elite MTBO) the fastest with the time of 58:58. A hard fight and a good win over two strong opponents, the Portuguese Davide Machado (.COM) and the Finnish Jussi Laurila (Team Finland), with more 11 seconds and 29 seconds, respectively. Second placed in the IOF MTBO World Ranking, the Italian Luca Dallavalle (Team Italy) presented himself discreetly, finnishing in the 17th position with more 4:32 than the winner. Really motivated to perform even better, the Portuguese Davide Machado was the star of the second day of competition, winning the Long Distance stage in 1:27:22. Luca Dallavalle reached the second position with more 41 seconds, while the French Cédric Beill (Team Elite MTBO) was third with the time of 1:29:07. Overall, Machado, Beill and Dallavalle fulfilled the podium by this order.

In the Women Elite class, the Finnish Marika Hara (Team Finland) took the victory on both stages, winning the competition overall. Her team mate Antonia Haga was second in both stages, performing really well and finishing close to Hara in the Long Distance. The Russian Svetlana Poverina (Orienta Gold Team) was third overall, after a third place in the Middle Distance and a fourth place in the Long Distance. The best Portuguese athlete in this class was Ana Filipa Silva (CPOC), in the 14th position overall.


Men Elite
1. Davide Machado (.COM POR) 199,69 points
2. Cedric Beill (Team Elite MTBO FRA) 192,47 points
3. Luca Dallavalle (Team Italy ITA) 191,81 points
4. Jussi Laurila (Team Finland FIN) 191,46 points
5. Baptiste Fuchs (Team Elite MTBO FRA) 191,41 points
6. Ruslan Gritsan (Shimano Bergamont RUS) 188,75 points
7. Angel Garcia Garcia (Selección Española ESP) 187,51 points
8. Beat Schaffner (Team Switzerland SWI) 185,50 points
9. Grigory Medvedev (Cube Russia Team RUS) 184,22 points
10. Lasse Brun Pedersen (Team Denmark DEN) 183,52 points

Women Elite
1. Marika Hara (Team Finland FIN) 200,00 points
2. Antonia Haga (Finland) 194,58 points
3. Svetlana Poverina (Orienta Gold Team RUS) 188,59 points
4. Gaelle Barlet (Team Elite MTBO FRA) 186,82 points
5. Henna Saarinen (Team Finland FIN) 176,13 points
6. Christine Schaffner (Team Switzerland SWI) 174,23 points
7. Ruska Saarela (Team Finland FIN) 173,24 points
8. Anastasiya Svir (Russian Federation RUS) 173,04 points
9. Cæcilie Christoffersen (Team Denmark DEN) 170,92 points
10. Laura Scaravonati (Team Italy ITA) 170,85 points

To see the complete results and further information, please visit the event's webpage at

[Photo: Luca Dallavalle /]

Joaquim Margarido

No comments:

Post a Comment