Sunday, June 26, 2016

MCO 2016: Turkey wins 5th edition

With the historical triumph of Turkey, came to the end the 5th edition of Mediterranean Championships in Orienteering MCO 2016. In the Middle Distance stage, Turkey and Spain shared once more the victories in the four competitive classes. By winning all stages, the young Turkish Ayse Bozkurt deserves the title of Queen of the Championships.

With an undeniable victory of Turkey, came to the end the 5th edition of the Mediterranean Championships in Orienteering MCO 2016. The final day of competition offered a Middle Distance race scoring for the IOF World Ranking, in which the Spanish were stronger in the Elite classes, while the Turkish led to won the Junior classes. Overall, Turkey repeated the achievement of the previous two stages and was the strongest team, increasing the advantage to its most direct opponents and ending with 98 points overall. Serbia recovers the four points missed in the second stage, keeping the second position with a total of 133 points. The big surprise came from the super-favorite Spain, winner of the four previous editions but just third placed this year, 42 points away from the Turkish Team. Cyprus, Egypt and Montenegro completed by this order the final standings.

Individually, the day was marked by the Turkish Ayse Bozkurt's third victory in a row in the W20 class. The talented athlete spent 33:34 to complete her course, leaving the Serbian Olga Stanojević in the second position, at nearly five minutes. In the M20 class, the Turkish Orhan Kutlu joined to the triumph achieved in the Long Distance race in the eve, a new victory with the time of 28:58, against 31:05 from the Serbian Miloš Bilić. In the Women Elite, the Spanish Violeta Feliciano Sanjuan repeated also yesterday's triumph, finishing her course in 35:55, after the strong opposition from the Turkish Emine Segunsay that spent more 1:43 than the winner. Finally, the Men Elite class saw on the top of the podium, for the third time, a different winner, with the Spanish Javier Ruiz de la Herrán to finally show at his best and getting the win with a time of 34:31 against 35:56 from the Turkish Ahmet Kaçmaz, ranked second.


Men Elite
1. Javier Ruiz de la Herrán (Spain) 34:31 (+ 00:00)
2. Ahmet Kaçmaz (Turkey) 35:56 (+ 01:25)
3. Yaşar Ismet Demiroz (Turkey) 36:06 (+ 01:35)
4. Sava Lazić (Serbia) 37:02 (+ 02:31)
5. Nikola Bilić (Serbia) 40:04 (+ 05:33)

Women Elite
1. Violeta Feliciano Sanjuan (Spain) 35:55 (+ 00:00)
2. Emine Segunsay (Turkey) 37:38 (+ 01:43)
3. Dudu Erol (Turkey) 39:13 (+ 03:18)
4. Marija Ćosić (Serbia) 44:00 (+ 08:05)
5. Marta Guijo Alonso (Spain) 44:56 (+ 09:01)

1. Orhan Kutlu (Turkey) 28:58 (+ 00:00)
2. Miloš Bilić (Serbia) 31:05 (+ 02:07)
3. Stefan Bilić (Serbia) 33:19 (+ 04:21)
4. Suleyman Eren (Turkey) 36:57 (+ 07:59)
5. Eloi Marti Romani (Spain) 38:09 (+ 09:11)

1. Ayse Bozkurt (Turkey) 33:34 (+ 00:00)
2. Olga Stanojević (Serbia) 38:30 (+ 04:56)
3. Milica Bilić (Serbia) 41:08 (+ 07:34)
4. Rosa Sanchez Bishop (Spain) 43:18 (+ 09:44)
5. Beyza Yildirim (Turkey) 45:11 (+ 11:37)

Complete results and further information at

[Photo: José Angel Nieto Poblete /]

Joaquim Margarido

No comments:

Post a Comment