Wednesday, July 27, 2016

WMTBOC 2016: Foliforov and Vinogradova got the gold in the Middle Distance

Anton Foliforov and Olga Shipilova Vinogradova, both from Russia, were the winners of the Middle Distance final, in the second day of the World MTB Orienteering Championships 2016. In the younger categories, France deserves to be highlighted for its two gold medals achieved in M20 and W17 classes.

The Middle Distance of the World MTB Orienteering Championship WMTBOC 2016, held this morning in Valongo do Vouga, hardly won't be erased from Vojtech Ludvik's memory. The Czech was the first to start, and also the first to finish his course; and with a time that would prove to be amazing, standing at 47:18 for a distance of 19.3 km. The truth is that he had to have nerves of steel to withstand the pressure of leading almost until the very end, just beaten by the Russian Anton Foliforov, the penultimate to start, and that would record a new best time by 43 seconds. Placed 3rd was another Russian athlete, Ruslan Gritsan, 47 seconds slower than his teammate. With this result, Foliforov kept the Middle Distance's world title, reaching his second gold medal in these World Championships after winning the Sprint that opened the competition last Monday.

In the Women Elite, the Russian Olga Shipilova Vinogradova was the winner with a time of 44:02 for a distance of 14.5 km, confirming that the two years pause didn't affect her at all. Second placed, the British Emily Benham, currently the World Cup leader, finished her race spending three seconds more than Vinogradova, after winning the Sprint title, last Monday, by a difference of two seconds over the Finnish Marika Hara. The third place went to the Danish Camilla Soegaard, taking her second individual bronze medal in the World Championships after Italy 2014, then in the Long Distance. The previous World Champion, the French Gaëlle Barlet, was the 5th ranked, 1:31 after the winner.

Among the younger categories, this time the focus is on France, thanks to Samson Deriaz and Mia Raichon's victories in the Junior World Championships and the European Youth Championships, respectively. Deriaz found the strong opposition of the Finnish Sauli Pietikaïnen, winning by a margin of 3 seconds. Meanwhile, Raichon reached a comfortable victory of nearly two minutes over the Czech Vilma Kralova. In the W20 class, the Czech Veronika Kubinova turned out to be unbeatable, repeating the gold achieved last Monday and getting her fifth World Junior title in the last three editions of the World Championships. Finally, the new Youth European Champion is Danish and goes by the name of Thomas Steinthal, having beaten the Sprint European Champion, the Czech Jan Hasek, for just three seconds.


1. Anton Foliforov (Russia) 46:35 (+ 00:00)
2. Vojtech Ludvik (Czech Republic) 47:18 (+ 00:43)
3. Ruslan Gritsan (Russia) 47:22 (+ 00:47)
4. Cédric Beill (France) 47:56 (+ 01:21)
5. Lauri Malsroos (Estonia) 48:28 (+ 01:53)
6. Vojtech Stransky (Czech Republic) 49:01 (+ 02:26)

1. Olga Shipilova Vinogradova (Russia) 44:02 (+ 00:00)
2. Emily Benham (Great Britain) 44:05 (+ 00:03)
3. Camilla Soegaard (Denmark) 44:43 (+ 00:41)
4. Svetlana Poverina (Russia) 44:51 (+ 00:49)
5. Gaëlle Barlet (France) 45:33 (+ 01:31)
6. Martina Tichovska (Czech Republic) 45:50 (+ 01:48)

1. Samson Deriaz (France) 40:43 (+ 00:00)
2. Sauli Pietikäinen (Finland) 40:46 (+ 00:03)
3. Nojus Kalvaitis (Lithuania) 41:00 (+ 00:17)

1. Veronika Kubinova (Czech Republic) 37:10 (+ 0:00)
2. Alena Fedoseeva (Russia) 39:47 (+ 02:37)
3. Doris Kudre (Estonia) 40:30 (+ 03:20)

1. Thomas Steinthal (Denmark) 33:03 (+ 00:00)
2. Jan Hasek (Czech Republic) 33:08 (+ 00:05)
3. Teemu Kaksonen (Finland) 34:06 (+ 01:03)

1. Mia Raichon (France) 33:06 (+ 00:00)
2. Vilma Kralova (Czech Republic) 34:55 (+ 01:49)
3. Marina Oparina (Russia) 35:39 (+ 02:33)

Complete results and further information at

Joaquim Margarido

No comments:

Post a comment