Tuesday, August 23, 2016

WTOC 2016: Five Finns in the TempO Final

The WTOC 2016 started this morning with the TempO qualification heats. Divided between reds and blues, 72 competitors fought in order to be amongst the 18 best in their heats. In the end, Finland was the most efficient, with all of its 5 competitors getting the ticket to the decisive stage. 15 countries will be represented in the final.

Martin Jullum, Norway, was the fastest and the most accurate, showing that he's here to recover the World title, lost last year to the Finn Antti Rusanen. Rusanen also had a strong race, finishing third in a heat won by another Norwegian competitor, Sondre Ruud Braten.

Finland qualified all its five competitors to the final, with Lauri Makinen, Pinja Makinen, Sami Hyvönen and Anna Jacobson joining Rusanen. Sweden and Norway will also have both their squads of four athletes into the decisive race, which will start at 2 p.m. Croatia, Italy and Slovakia, with three athletes each, the Czech Republic – with the current European Champion, Pavel Kurfürst –, Japan, Great Britain, Portugal and Hong Kong, with two athletes each, will be there to challenge the strongest nations. Finally, Denmark, Slovenia, Lithuania and Latvia will be present with one athlete each.

With four athletes qualified to the TempO final in the last World Championships, Ukraine couldn't reach the final this time and it's, undeniably, the biggest disappointment of the qualifications.


Qualifying Red
1. Martin Jullum NOR 118,5 seconds
2. Pinja Mäkinen FIN 164
3. Martin Fredholm SWE 169
4. Lennart Wahlgren SWE 210
5. Dusan Furucz SVK 219
6. Kreso Kerestes SLO 256
7. Nick Barrable GBR 260,5
8. Anna Jacobson FIN 261
9. Edgar Domingues POR 264
10. Robertas Stankevic LTU 269
11. Tatsuyoshi Koizumi JPN 291
12. Tomislav Varnica CRO 291,5
13. Janis Ruksans LAT 293
14. Michele Cera ITA 294
15. Man Fai Timothy Kwong HKG 294,5
16. Ivo Tisljar CRO 297
17. Lars Jakob Waaler NOR 299
18. Remo Madella ITA 310,5

Qualifying Blue
1. Sondre Ruud Braten NOR 172,5 seconds
2. Alessio Tenani ITA 176
3. Antti Rusanen FIN 186
4. Lauri Makinen FIN 199
5. Marit Wiksell SWE 209
6. Sami Hyvönen FIN 224
7. Sigurd Dæhli NOR 260
8. Pavel Kurfürst CZE 261
9. Jan Furucz SVK 262
10. Johanne Biering DEN 266
11. Kentaro Iwata JPN 267,5
12. Iva Lovrec CRO 284,5
13. Tom Dobra GBR 296
14. Jiri Kalousek CZE 305
15. Erik Stalnacke SWE 308,5
16. João Pedro Valente 316,5
17. Kwok-Wai Cheung HKG 319
18. Marián Miklus SVK 324

Joaquim Margarido

No comments:

Post a comment