Tuesday, February 21, 2017

BLOM 2017: Hector and Ohlsson won in Coimbra

Simon Hector and Karolin Ohlsson were the winners of Rainha Santa Trophy / Beira Litoral O' Meeting 2017. The event took place last weekend, bringing together to Coimbra and Cernache nearly 750 competitors from 18 countries.

Five weeks after the 15th Center Orienteering Meeting, the Portuguese Orienteering League Vitalis 2017 moved to Coimbra and the nearby village of Cernache for its second round. The event was organized by Ori-Mondego, Associação Desportiva do Mondego, having the participation of 577 athletes in the competition classes, to which should be added 155 competitors in the Formation and Open classes, making a total of 732 participants representing 18 Countries. The event included a Sprint stage scoring for the IOF World Sprint Orienteering Ranking and two Middle Distance stages, the last of which scoring for the IOF World Orienteering Ranking.

Totally dedicated to the beautiful “city of the students”, the program of the first day saw the French Lucas Basset (Pôles France) and the Ukrainian Nadiya Volynska (OK Orion) win the opening stage, a challenging Sprint in the uneven historical center of Coimbra. Alternating in the lead with the Swedish Hakon Jarvis Westergard (Järla Orientering), Basset ended up by imposing himself in the final part of the race, reaching the victory with the time of 15:20, against 15:25 of his direct opponent. João Mega Figueiredo (CN Alvito) was the best Portuguese in this stage, finishing in the 17th place with more 1:40 than the winner. The women's race had in Nadiya Volynska the great character, winning notably with the time of 12:51. Karolin Ohlsson (Järla Orientering) still threatened the Ukrainian's leadership in the early part of the course, ending up not resisting to the power of her opponent and finishing in the 2nd place with more 38 seconds than the winner. Mariana Moreira (CPOC) spent three more minutes than Volynska and was the best Portuguese in the 13th place.

Tiago Romão and Mariana Moreira, the best Portuguese

Coimbra's map returned to carry out excellent duels in the afternoon of the first day with the accomplishment of the Urban Middle Distance stage. In the Men's competition, only 33 seconds separated the top three athletes, with the Swedish Simon Hector (Snättringe SK) holding the win with the time of 36:58. The Swedish Johan Ek Larsson (Södertalje-Nykvarn) finished in the 2nd place 17 seconds after Hector, while Tiago Romão (CMo Funchal) reached the 3rd place with more 37:31 than the winner. In the Women Elite class, Mariana Moreira performed greatly, being able to get in the lead throughout the first half of the course, handing over the leadership to Karolin Ohlsson who ended up winning comfortably with the time of 34:51 against 37:43 of the Portuguese.

For the last day was reserved a forest stage of Middle Distance, which would reveal the winners of Rainha Santa Trophy / Beira Litoral O' Meeting 2017. In the Women Elite class, Ohlsson's advantage from the day before kept her safe from major problems and the third place in this stage turned out to be enough to ensure the final victory. The triumph in the stage went to the French Isia Basset (Pôles France) with a time of 39:45, with the Swedish Elin Mansson (IFK Göteborg) reaching the second place with more 1:57 than the winner. Volynska's fourth position, 3:07 after Isia Basset, allowed her to rise to the final second place in the Trophy. Finishing in the 13th place with the time of 50:11, Mariana Moreira was able to reach a wonderful place on the final podium, being the third placed. In the Men's chapter, the bills seemed much harder to do, especially after Lucas Basset had given up on running the Urban Middle Distance and being out of the Trophy's contest. The French would be the winner of this stage with a time of 36:16 and a one-minute advantage over the Austrian Gernot Kerschbaumer (OK Pan Kristianstad). The next places fell to the Estonian Timo Sild and the Ukrainian Oleksandr Kratov, both representing Koovee, who thus ascended to the 2nd and 3rd final place. The Trophy's winner would be Simon Hector who ended up getting the best of the victory in the second stage, after being the 6th placed of the final stage, with more 3:27 than the winner. Manuel Horta (GafanhOri) was, this time, the best Portuguese, finishing in 13th place at 5:45 of Basset, while Tiago Romão reached a worthy 5th place in the final accounts and was the best representative from Portugal.


Sprint WRE

Men Elite
1. Lucas Basset (Pôles France) 15:20 (+ 00:00)
2. Hakon Jarvis Westergard (Järla Orientering) 15:25 (+ 00:05)
3. Nicolas Simonin (IFK Lidingo SOK) 15:36 (+ 00:16)
4. Loïc Marty (Pôles France) 15:56 (+ 00:36)
5. Timo Sild (Koovee) 16:01 (+ 00:41)

Women Elite
1. Nadiya Volynska (OK Orion) 12:51 (+ 00:00)
2. Karolin Ohlsson (Järla Orientering) 13:29 (+ 00:38)
3. Isia Basset (Pôles France) 14:20 (+ 01:29)
4. Elin Mansson (IFK Göteborg) 14:32 (+ 01:41)
5. Lou Lenoble (Pôles France) 14:42 (+ 01:51)

Urban Middle Distance

Men Elite
1. Simon Hector (Snättringe SK) 36:58 (+ 00:00)
2. Johan Ek Larsson (Södertälje-Nykvarn) 37:15 (+ 00:17)
3. Tiago Romão (CMo Funchal) 37:31 (+ 00:33)
4. Pedro Nogueira (ADFA) 38:10 (+ 01:12)
5. Nikita Asoyan (Dyusash) 38:28 (+ 01:30)

Women Elite
1. Karolin Ohlsson (Järla Orientering) 34:51 (+ 00:00)
2. Mariana Moreira (CPOC) 37:43 (+ 02:52)
3. Filipa Rodrigues (ADFA) 39:08 (+ 04:17)
4. Nadiya Volynska (OK Orion) 39:40 (+ 04:49)
5. Krystal Neumann (Järla Orientering) 40:26 (+ 05:35)

Middle Distance WRE

Men Elite
1. Lucas Basset (Pôles France) 36:16 (+ 00:00)
2. Gernot Kerschbaumer (OK Pan Kristianstad) 37:16 (+ 01:00)
3. Timo Sild (Koovee) 38:15 (+ 01:59)
4. Oleksandr Kratov (Koovee) 38:23 (+ 02:07)
5. Loïc Capbern (Pôles France) 39:07 (+ 02:51)

Women Elite
1. Isia Basset (Pôles France) 39:45 (+ 00:00)
2. Elin Mansson (IFK Göteborg) 41:42 (+ 01:57)
3. Karolin Ohlsson (Järla Orientering) 42:17 (+ 02:32)
4. Nadiya Volynska (OK Orion) 42:52 (+ 03:07)
5. Adela Indrakova (IFK Lidingo SOK) 43:43 (+ 03:58)

Overall standings

Men Elite
1. Simon Hector (Snättringe SK) 2860,61 points
2. Timo Sild (Koovee) 2791,63 points
3. Oleksandr Kratov (Koovee) 2778,93 points
4. Johan Ek Larsson (Södertälje-Nykvarn) 2729,43 points
5. Tiago Romão (CMo Funchal) 2676,47 points

Women Elite
1. Karolin Ohlsson (Järla Orientering) 2893,12 points
2. Nadiya Volynska (OK Orion) 2805,86 points
3. Mariana Moreira (CPOC) 2527,67 points
4. Krystal Neumann (Järla Orientering) 2468, 06 points
5. Mariia Makarova (MO Yakhroma) 2400,39 points

Complete results and further information at http://blom.admondego.pt/.

Joaquim Margarido

No comments:

Post a Comment