Saturday, February 11, 2017

JWSOC & EYSOC 2017: Kiselev take it all

In the Middle Distance, the last individual Final of the Junior World Ski Orienteering Championships 2017 and the European Youth Ski Orienteering Championships 2017, Russia and Finland shared equally the four gold medals. As in previous Finals, Liisa Nenonen, Vladislav Kiselev, Veronika Kalinina and Vaino Kotro were the strongest, but Kiselev was the only one to make it to the top of the podium for the third time in a row.

The competition in the Men 20 class was once again dominated by the Russian Vladislav Kiselev, who thus repeated the first position achieved in the Sprint and in the Long Distance, the two precedent finals of the Junior World Ski Orienteering 2017. Kiselev's superiority was of 2:41 on his compatriot Aleksandr Pavlenko, after having finished the course with the time of 35:45. Like in the first day of JWSOC 2017, the Women 20 class' podium was entirely filled by the colors of Finland, with Liisa Nenonen and Tuuli Suutari reissuing last Wednesday's duel, whose final result was in favour of Nenonen again, this time by the difference of 54 seconds.

Today's program of the European Youth Ski Orienteering Championships 2017 were also filled by the Middle Distance races in which the Finn Vaino Kotro and the Russian Veronika Kalinina repeated the excellent performances of the Long Distance race last Thursday and won their second gold of the Championships. Vaino Kotro was the winner of the Men 17 class with the time of 35:05, while the second place went to the Czech Jan Hasek, with 1:12 more than the winner. As in the Long Distance Final, Veronika Kalinina and the Finnish Siiri Saalo were once again the top two players in the Women 17 class, waging an intense duel that ended with a difference of 31 seconds between the two athletes.



Middle Distance

Men 20
1. Vladislav Kiselev (Russia) 35:45 (+ 00:00)
2. Aleksandr Pavlenko (Russia) 38:26 (+ 02:41)
3. Rasmus Wickborn (Sweden) 39:50 (+ 04:05)

Women 20
1. Liisa Nenonen (Finland) 39:58 (+ 00:00)
2. Tuuli Suutari (Finland) 40:52 (+ 00:54)
3. Veera Klemettinen (Finland) 41:01 (+ 01:03)


Middle Distance

Men 17
1. Vaino Kotro (Finland) 35:05 (+ 00:00)
2. Jan Hasek (Czech Republic) 36:17 (+ 01:12)
3. Eerik Nurminen (Finland) 36:21 (+ 01:16)

Women 17
1. Veronika Kalinina (Russia) 35:25 (+ 00:00)
2. Siiri Saalo (Finland) 35:56 (+ 00:31)
3. Elin Schagerstrom (Sweden) 37:33 (+ 02:08)

Complete results and further information at

Joaquim Margarido

No comments:

Post a Comment