Sunday, February 26, 2017

POM 2017: Martínez and Kadan were the fastest in the Night Sprint

Antonio Martínez and Ursula Kadan won the Night Sprint of POM 2017. Alter do Chão's historical centre and the “dark” Jardim do Álamo hosted a great course attended by over 1,100 competitors.

As usual, the first day of Portugal O' Meeting ended with the Night Sprint party. More than 1,100 competitors headed Alter do Chão, changing the Sprint race into a fast, furious and funny moment. Antonio Martinez (Turun Metsänkävijät) was the fastest in the Men Super Elite class, covering the 3.2 km of his course in 12:22. Ivan Sirakov (Variant5) got the second best time, 9 seconds after Martinez. In the third position, both with 12:33, finished Riccardo Scalet (HS) and Timo Sild (Koovee). The Men Elite class presents another Spanish athlete on top of the final standings. Marc Serralong (Dreamteam) achieved the best time between the sixty finishers with 12:49, sharing the first place with Chris Smithard (OK Pan-Kristianstad). Luis Sanchéz (Villena-O) finished in the third place, 21 seconds after the winner.

In the Women class, Ursula Kadan's great performance meant the first place, finishing the 2.8 km of her course in 11:38. Catherine Taylor (OK Södertörn) got the second place, 8 seconds after Kadan. The third place was achieved by Tereza Janosikova (TSM Hana) with 11:40, while Svetlana Mironova (Koovee) finished fourth, 18 seconds after the winner. Without competitors in the Men Super Elite and Women Elite classes, Portugal's best athlete was Nelson Baroca in the Men Elite class with the time of 16:14 which earned him the 41st position.


Men Super Elite
1. Antonio Martinez (Turun Metsänkävijät) 12:22 (+ 00:00)
2. Ivan Sirakov (Variant5) 12:31 (+ 00:09)
3. Riccardo Scalet (HS) 12:33 (+ 00:11)
3. Timo Sild (Koovee) 12:33 (+ 00:11)
5. Frederic Tranchand (Paimion Rasti) 12:44 (+ 00:22)

Women Elite
1. Ursula Kadan (Austrian Military Team) 11:30 (+ 00:00)
2. Catherine Taylor (OK Södertörn) 11:38 (+ 00:08)
3. Tereza Janoziková (TSM Hana) 11:40 (+ 00:10)
4. Svetlana Mironova (Koovee) 11:48 (+ 00:18)
5. Tessa Strain (IL Tyrving) 12:00 (+ 00:30)

Men Elite
1. Marc Serralonga (Dreamteam) 12:49 (+ 00:00)
1. Chris Smithard (OK Pan-Kristianstad) 12:49 (+ 00:00)
3. Luis Sánchez (Villena-O) 13:10 (+ 00:21)
4. Vladimir Gribin (Individual RUS) 13:24 (+ 00:35)
5. Jakob Andersson (OK Linné) 13:40 (+ 00:51)

Complete results and further information at

Joaquim Margarido

No comments:

Post a comment