Sunday, March 05, 2017

ABOM 2017: Gueorgiou and Haverstad won in Aguiar da Beira

With victories from Thierry Gueorgiou and Maren Jansson Haverstad in the final stage, came to the end the Aguiar da Beira O 'Meeting 2017. After three stages in two days of competition, they were the fastest and most consistent, closing in the best way their presence in Portugal.

The Aguiar da Beira O' Meeting 2017 is over. Organised by Clube de Orientação de Estarreja, the event closed another international orienteering period in our country, calling to Aguiar da Beira nearly 750 competitors from 21 countries. The event's program comprised a Middle Distance and a Sprint in the first day, both scoring for the IOF World Rankings, finishing with a Long Distance in the second day.

The final day of competition was marked by adverse weather conditions, which caused that 55 elite athletes didn't complete their courses. Preparing for what will be his last season in the Elite, Thierry Gueorgiou (Kalevan Rasti), the best male orienteer ever, wanted to keep the best memories from Portugal, fulfilling the 14.4 km of his race with the time of 1:36:13 and being the fastest in the Men Elite class. The current leader of the IOF World Ranking, Olav Lundanes (Paimion Rasti), got the second position, finishing with more 2:04 than the winner. In the Women Elite class, Maren Jansson Haverstad (NTNUI) reached an unexpected victory, spending 1:36:49 for 9.4 km of her course and leaving the second position to the big favorite, Svetlana Mironova (Koovee), who spent more four minutes than the winner.

In the overall standings, Thierry Gueorgiou and Maren Jansson Haverstad were the big winners of Aguiar da Beira O 'Meeting 2017, with Albin Ridefelt (OK Linné) being the second ranked in the Men Elite class, followed by Graham Gristwood (Kalevan Rasti). In the Women Elite class, Inga Dambe (Paimion Rasti) was the second placed, while Fanni Gyurko (Kalevan Rasti) finished in the third place. As for the Portuguese, Luis Barreiro (NADA) was the best ranked in the Men Elite, finishing in the 42nd position while Filipa Rodrigues (ADFA) was our best representative in the Women Elite, closing her participation in the event in the 10th place. Collectively, the Clube de Orientação do Centro achieved the victory.


SIGN Long Distance

Men Elite
1. Thierry Gueorgiou (Kalevan Rasti) 1:36:13 (+ 00:00)
2. Olav Lundanes (Paimion Rasti) 1:38:17 (+ 02:04)
3. Graham Gristwood (Kalevan Rasti) 1:44:01 (+ 07:48)
4. Albin Ridefelt (OK Linné) 1:47:18 (+ 11:05)
5. Oleksandr Kratov (Koovee) 1:47:57 (+ 11:44)

Women Elite
1. Maren Jansson Haverstad (NTNUI) 1:36:49 (+ 00:00)
2. Svetlana Mironova (Koovee) 1:40:45 (+ 03:56)
3. Ulrika Uotila (Koovee) 1:43:08 (+ 06:19)
4. Inga Dambe (Paimion Rasti) 1:47:27 (+ 10:38)
5. Mariia Makarova (MO Yakhroma) 1:49:23 (+ 12:34)

Overall Results

Men Elite
1. Thierry Gueorgiou (Kalevan Rasti) 2932,86 points
2. Albin Ridefelt (OK Linné) 2794,77 points
3. Grahan Gristwood (Kalevan Rasti) 2755,42 points
4. Andreu Blanes (Colivenc) 2733,64 points
5. Milos Nykodym (OK Linné) 2731,20 points

Women Elite
1. Maren Jansson Haverstad (NTNUI) 2788,37 points
2. Inga Dambe (Paimion Rasti) 2768,75 points
3. Fanni Gyurko (Kalevan Rasti) 2744,06 points
4. Mariia Makarova (MO Yakhroma) 2680,12 points
5. Milla Mattila (Helsingin Suunnistajat) 2635,41 points

Complete results and further information at

Joaquim Margarido

No comments:

Post a Comment