Sunday, April 23, 2017

Spanish Trail Orienteering Championships 2017: Søren Saxtorph and Inês Domingues were the winners

Inês Domingues and Søren Saxtorph won their classes and were the great figures of the 2017 Spanish Trail Orienteering Championships. Internally, Santiago Pérez and Miguel Ángel Garcia achieved their first TrailO Spanish titles.

As usual during the Easter season, the Spanish Orienteering Federation organized, this time with GOCAN club, the 2017 Spanish Orienteering Championships, whose program included a PreO competition. With courses set by Hector Lorenzo, the event was held in Miraflores de la Sierra (Madrid) and was attended by 126 competitors from Spain, Portugal, Denmark, Israel, the United States and South Africa. In the Paralympic Class, the Spanish Miguel Ángel Garcia (ADOL) wasn't an easy opponent for the super-favorite Søren Saxtorph (Ballerup OK), Denmark, holder of four individual medals at World Championships. Both answered correctly to 23 out of 25 tasks and both missed one of the timed controls, being the victory to the Nordic competitor because of his faster answering speed in the timed station.

In the Open Class, the Portuguese Inês Domingues (COC) showed once again all her talent, being the only competitor to answer correctly all tasks. To this immaculate performance, Inês added a "supersonic" answer time in the timed station, clearly below the average of the other competitors. One point less than the winner were classified eight competitors, with another Portuguese, Jorge Baltazar (GDU Azoia), getting the best time in the timed station and achieving the second position. In the third position were placed two competitors with equal time of answer in the timed controls: the very young Danish Karoline Saxtorph Schulz (Ballerup OK), one of the great revelations of the recent World Championships, and Santiago Pérez (COMA), thus achieving his first national title.


Open class
1. Inês Domingues (COC, POR) 25 points / 12 seconds
2. Jorge Baltazar (GDU Azoia, POR) 24 points / 36 seconds
3. Santiago Pérez (COMA) 24 points / 40 seconds
3. Karoline Saxtorph Schulz (Ballerup OK, DEN) 24 points / 40 seconds
5. Arturo Garcia Dingra (Escondite-T) 24 points / 77 seconds
6. Alex Tello Lacal (Valencia-O) 24 points / 91 seconds
7. Jorge Valente Barrera (Imperdible) 24 points / 92 seconds
8. Javier Arufe (APA Liceo) 24 points / 98 seconds
9. Ana Belén Calvo (UPV-O) 24 points / 116 seconds
10. Juan Pedro Valente (Imperdible) 23 points / 43 seconds

Paralympic class
1. Søren Saxtorph (Ballerup OK, DEN) 23 points / 84 seconds
2. Miguel Ángel Garcia (ADOL) 23 points / 100 seconds
3. Carlos Riu (COMA) 18 points / 112 seconds
4. Sergio Martin (COHU) 18 points / 116 seconds
5. Alice Rouillard (Montsant Orientació) 11 points / 180 seconds

[The Portuguese Orienteering Blog thanks Miguel Ángel Garcia for his kind attention in providing all the information]

Joaquim Margarido

No comments:

Post a Comment